Round Two of the Auckland Motorcycle Club Summer Series for 2019-20 at Hampton Downs last Sunday enjoyed more fine weather; and the spirited racing reflected the diversity in an entry that allows complementary classes to share the grid, to provide a variety of interesting matchups.

In the Carl Cox Motorsport Cup, Jesse Stroud continues to hold advantage on the Ninja’s, but Zak Fuller and Hamish Fox are right there. With three rounds remaining in the Cup – who will do two additional rounds in early 2020 – the 400’s are wide open.

Likewise for the Hyosung’s. Loren May has a similar ‘five-from-six’ tally as Stroud, but he himself faces a stern challenge in the form of Justin Reid and Josh Augustine.

There is plenty to come here.

Senior saw several National competitors take to the circuit, with Daniel Mettam, Sloan Frost and Jayden Carrick offering a teaser for the coming Superbike summer. Adam Chambers likewise in Supersport 600.

Mark Halls and Darren Prentis are now six-from-six in sidecar, and it was encouraging to see additional sidecar entries in the lead-in to the Suzuki Series, with a healthy grid of nine. 

Intermediate always entertains – and Steve Bridge spent all day battling with Ben Rosendaal and Matt Dunlop. With the giant-killing Moto 3 Honda of Chris Malcolm just a handful of seconds back. The diversity of Superlite – running cross-entry 400 Kawasaki’s, mixed with ProTwin 650’s and the 125 2-Strokes – is a recipe for good racing.

Junior though has a problem of sorts – in as much as Nathanael Diprose is so difficult to reign in.
A storming charge in Race One saw him blitz the field by 29 seconds!

Luca Durning was best of the rest, while Darrick Kattenberg showed his class also.

And encouraging to see the Gixxers joining the Junior grid, with Billee Fuller leading the points on the 150cc Suzuki.

Highlight of a healthy field of Post-Classics was Ken Ferguson in Pre-89 Senior. Running a 1989 Suzuki GSXR1100, Ferguson heads the points for that class; six-from-six so far this season.

While in Clubman it is delightful to see Hayden Kinmont aboard his KTM 390. A long-serving volunteer flag marshal with AMCC and other Clubs, Kinmont is experiencing life on the other side of the armco this season, and is flying the flag in Clubman Junior.

Round Three – the double-points Final Round of the AMCC Club Series – is coming up at Hampton Downs on Sunday 17th November.

2019-2020 AMCC Club Series Points:
(After Round Two of Three)

Senior – Superbike (Pirelli)Points
Travis Moan75
Sloan Frost70
Jayden Carrick52
Senior – Supersport 600 (Pirelli)
Robbie Stokes75
Adam Chambers75
Tyler Brown45
Senior – Superstock 1000 (Pirelli)
Jonathan Skyrme150
Intermediate – Superlite (Castrol)
Nick Olson122
Jesse Stroud107
Vaughan Simmonds76
Intermediate – Pro Twin 650 (Castrol)
Ben Rosendaal150
Phillip Munt102
Jaren Horn90
Intermediate – 125cc GP (Castrol)
Chris Malcolm150
Brodie Jones40
Junior – Supersport 300 (Metzeler / Muc-Off)
Nathaniel Diprose150
Shaun Parker108
Des Berghan74
Junior – 250 Pro Lite (Metzeler / Muc-Off)
Sean White102
Chris Smith102
Loren May110?
Junior – F4, F5, Gixxer 150 (Metzeler / Muc-Off)
Billee Fuller150
Corey Field60
Pre 82 Senior (Motomail NZ)
Matt Ineson75
Russell Barker75
Brian Deadman60
Pre 82 Junior (Motomail NZ)
Guy Webster135
Hadleigh Thomson88
Phil Oades75
Pre 89 F1 (Motomail NZ)
Ken Ferguson150
Rick Van Velzen100
Trevor Rollinson68
Pre 89 F3 (Motomail NZ)
Rory Garvey75
Richard Ford50
Pre 95 F2 (Motomail NZ)
Graham Moorhead70
Dave Freeman52
Paul Pavletich50
Pre 95 F3 (Motomail NZ)
Chris Malcolm125
Nick Olson108
Peter van Yzendoorn61
Sidecars (Road Guide / Arai / Michelin)
Mark Halls / Darren Prentis150
Bryce Rickard / Callum Innes100
Spike Taylor / Graham Wilkinson60
Clubman Senior (Counties Honda)
Ross Tucker102
Vaughan Hanna95
Leixiang Zhu93
Clubman Junior (Counties Honda)
Hayden Kinmont115
Anthony Young50
Ninja Cup – after Round 2 of 5 (Carl Cox Motorsport)
Jesse Stroud447
Zak Fuller404
Hamish Fox343
Hyosung Cup – after Round 2 of 5 (Carl Cox Motorsport)
Loren May443
Justin Reid407
Josh Augustine351

The 2019-2020 Series is organised and promoted by the Auckland Motorcycle Club – who acknowledge all their valuable partners:

Carl Cox Motorsport, Castrol, Counties Honda, Forbes & Davies, Levels Ltd, Motomail, MTF Finance, and Northern Accessories – along with MX Timing and CTAS Live.         

Calendar – 2019-2020 AMCC Club Series:

Round 1 – 22nd September 2019
Round 2 – 20th October 2019
Round 3 – 17th November 2019

Photo by Philip Kavermann

(1) Current NZSBK Superbike Champion, Daniel Mettam had the first run on his new GSX-R1000, along with (5) Sloan Frost; both riders with their eyes firmly on the Suzuki International Series and 2020 NZSBK National Championship.