It was a beautiful spring day for Round One of the Auckland Motorcycle Club Summer Series for 2019-20 at Hampton Downs last Sunday. The temperature climbed to a pleasant 16-degrees under sunny skies, but some cool wind gusts kept things interesting for the smaller capacity classes.

Back for a ninth season in partnership with AMCC, the Carl Cox Motorsport Cup continues to deliver solid fields; and a considered path for junior rider development. 
Seven new entries joined the Cup field – which again spans two classes. One for the 250 Hyosung’s; and a second for the 400 Ninja Kawasaki’s, which as expected enjoyed a growth in numbers for their second year.

Current Hyosung Cup champion Jesse Stroud has stepped up to the Ninja’s, and set the pace for the 400’s, with Zak Fuller back for the second season. Recently nominated for the Under 19 North Waikato sport person of the year, the Taupiri youngster runs a close second in the Ninja points.

Over in the Hyosung’s, Loren May and Justin Reid led a gaggle that contains a number of potential threats as the season progresses. With five rounds to the Cup season, there is a long way to go.

Look for plenty of action from the Cup classes.

Mark Halls and Darren Prentis picked up where they left off last season with the sidecars.

This year competing for the Auckland Artillery Challenge Cup, the sidecars continue to add an extra dimension to the AMCC programme.

Senior was dominated by Travis Moan, piloting the 1-litre Kawasaki.

While Intermediate again provided lots of diversity with Superlite running cross-entry 400 Kawasaki’s, mixed with the ProTwin 650’s and the 125 2-Strokes.

Nick Olson and Jesse Stroud will battle all season, while the current National Champion Ben Rosendaal, has the upper hand in the ProTwins.

Junior is a greenfield of developed and emerging talent.

Nathanael Diprose is concentrating on the 390 KTM for now – and his extensive Bucket and Hyosung experience will make him very difficult to beat as he heads into a second season on the well-sorted GVR machine. The ProLite class will be a dog-fight all season but Sean White has also carried his form from last season to hold an early lead. 

The healthy fields of Post-Classic and Clubman competitors rounded out a full programme.

Round Two of the AMCC Series is coming up at Hampton Downs on Sunday 20th October.

2019-2020 AMCC Club Series Points:
(After ROUND ONE of Three)

Points – Senior: SUPERBIKE (Pirelli)
75        Travis Moan

Points – Senior: SUPERSPORT 600 (Pirelli)
75        Robbie Stokes

Points – Senior: SUPERSTOCK 1000 (Pirelli)
75        Jonathan Skyrme

Points – Intermediate: SUPERLITE (Castrol)

70        Nick Olson
65        Jesse Stroud
48        Vaughan Simmonds

Points – Intermediate: PRO TWIN 650 (Castrol)

75        Ben Rosendaal
60        Phillip Munt
45        Jarad Horn

Points – Intermediate: 125ccGP (Castrol)

75        Chris Malcolm

Points – Junior: SUPERSPORT 300 (Metzeler / Muc-Off)

75        Nathanael Diprose
60        Shaun Parker
48        Alistair Wilton

Points – Junior: 250 PRO LITE (Metzeler / Muc-Off)

60        Sean White
57        Chris Smith
50        Loren May

Points – Junior: F4, F5, GIXXER 150 (Metzeler / Muc-Off)

75        Billee Fuller

Points – PRE 82 SENIOR (Motomail NZ)

75        Matt Ineson

Points – PRE 82 JUNIOR (Motomail NZ)

75        Phil Oades
60        Guy Webster
48        Hadleigh Thomson

Points – PRE 89 F1 (Motomail NZ)

75        Ken Ferguson
52        Trevor Rollinson
40        Rick Van Velzen

Points – PRE 89 F3 (Motomail NZ)

50        Richard Ford

Points – PRE 95 F2 (Motomail NZ)

50        Paul Pavletich

Points – PRE 95 F3 (Motomail NZ)

61        Peter van Yzendoorn
56        Nick Olson
50        Chris Malcolm

Points – SIDECARS (Road Guide / Arai / Michelen)

75        Mark Halls / Darren Prentis
52        Bryce Rickard / Callum Innes
40        David McArthur / Tony New

Points – CLUBMAN SENIOR (Counties Honda)

70        Brett Hewitt
46        Ross Tucker
45        Ting Lo

Points – CLUBMAN JUNIOR (Counties Honda)

65        Hayden Kinmont
50        Anthony Young

Points – NINJA CUP: (Carl Cox Motorsport)
After Round One of Five

219      Jesse Stroud
203      Zak Fuller
188      Ben Cook

Points – HYOSUNG CUP: (Carl Cox Motorsport)
After Round One of Five

217      Loren May
203      Justin Reid
183      Josh Augustine

The 2019-2020 Series is organised and promoted by the Auckland Motorcycle Club – who acknowledge all our valuable partners:

Carl Cox Motorsport, Castrol, Counties Honda, Forbes & Davies, Levels Ltd, Motomail, MTF Finance, and Northern Accessories – along with MX Timing and CTAS Live.         

Calendar – 2019-2020 AMCC Club Series:

Rd 1 – 22nd September 2019
Rd 2 – 20th October 2019
Rd 3 – 17th November 2019

(#54) Travis Moan (Kawasaki ZX-10R) has command of the Senior category after Round One of the AMCC Summer Series for 2019-2020. 
Photo: Philip Kavermann